Dhanalakshmi Returns

My fascination with Indian women’s clothing has really increased since my arrival August 2nd. Everyday that I use the train and walk around town I am constantly observing the different prints, fabrics, and style of dresses women are wearing. My favorite everyday go-to look has become the salwar kameez. I swear I could wear this outfit every day for the rest of my life! It is the most comfrtable outfit, and super fashionable. The long tunic top (the kameez) comes to the knee, or a little longer depending on your taste, and the pants (the salwar) are what I would describe as MC hammer pants, however they are perfect for billowing in the wind and creating a nice breeze as you walk. The accompanying dupatta (scarf) is usually made of chiffon, or cotton and matches the colors and print of you salwar kameez perfectly. One thing I have definitely learned so far is that matching and bright colors are key to being a south Indian fashionista!

Since I have become an avid wearer of the Salwar Kameez, I have been encouraged by the ladies in my office to expand my love for Indian clothing and invest in a sari. The sari (also spelled saree depending on who you ask), has become my newest fascination. How is it that 6 yards of cloth (9 yards in some communities) a middrift showing top, aka the blouse, and a slip can constitute an entire outfit?! Wearing the sari however isn’t for the fait of heart, and definfitly requires poise, elegance, and every typical lady like quality that sometimes I feel I lack, like the feminine walk for instance…

On Friday I wore a sari to work, and let me just say, I have never felt so “womanly” yet constricted at the same time! It took me about and hour and a half to get myself ready in the morning– partly because I simply could not figure out how to do all the pleats and tucking that is required to put it on, so I ended up enlisting the help of the cook, Banu, and Mallika, the lady of the house. By the time I arrived at the office (I ended up taking an autorickshaw from the house since the fabirc turned out to be quite heavy, and walking was a little more difficult than I had anticipated- the sari is very long and the petty coat underneath the fabric constricts your foot movements to mere shuffles) I felt a little nervous- probably becasue my middrift was exposed. However, I exited the autorickshaw, took a few uncomfotable and tentative steps, ans was greeted by both gate guards saluting me! In the office I was met with looks of amazment, and approval. Along with the sari, I wore matching bangles, chute (head pendant) earrings, and bindi, since as I previously said, matching is key to achieving high marks in Indian fashion sense! My office mates said I that looked like a doll, and that I looked like I was ready for marriage! I told them I needed to find the husband first, well technically a boyfriend first, but that’s another story!

I had such a good time wearing the sari, and I even turned heads wear my outfit! I’m telling you, this dress epitomizes the female figure, and definitely accentuates all your curves in just the right ways! At the end of the day, the export department and I had a photo shoot togeher, during which time I learned how to wear the sari in multiple ways. Below I’ve posted some pictures of one of my new favorite outfits, and sexiest dress I have ever worn! For daily wear however, I think I’ll stick with the salwar kameez! Enjoy the photos!

Kavita and I

Heyma and I during our export department photo shoot

The export department and I

More export department (as you can tell we had a great time taking pictures!)

 Heyma, Harika, and I

Wearing the sari with multiple pleats across the breast (traditional everyday method)

Wearing the pallu in the front (this is the most festive upscale way of wearing the sari)

Wearing the sari with single pleat across the breast. Now you can see the jewelry up close and personal!

Single pleat in all its glory!

Back view

One thought on “Dhanalakshmi Returns

Leave a Reply

